First blog award

Wow, it’s been three years since I wrote my last post. Not that I intended it that way, but certainly life has a way of getting in the way…. In any case, I am hoping this will be the first post in a series of new ones to come. I certainly have lots to talk about.

However, first things first. A long while back,, the lovely Dasha from the Green Makeup blog nominated this blog for the Liebster Award, an award given by bloggers to bloggers. I am honored and thankful that she considered my blog for this award, so thank you Dasha!

As part of the process, she asked me 10 questions. Here are, finally, the answers:

1) Fashion/clothes or cosmetics?

Definitely cosmetics.  If I could live in jeans, white t-shirts and boots every day I would! But without makeup I don’t feel I would ever look really good (oh, maybe if I lived by the beach and had a perpetual tan… but you know that is wishful thinking, right?).

2) Your favorite beauty product for skin?

Undoubtedly my vitamin C serum from Cellex-C.  I have been using it for over 10 years and it is amazing what it does to keep fine lines, wrinkles, and the inevitable loss of elasticity that comes with age at bay.  A true miracle in a bottle.

3) What kind of base/foundation do you use and which brand?

I still struggle with this one. My skin is finicky, or maybe it is the Washington DC weather. In summer it is super hot and humid so I breakout and thus prefer mineral foundations. In the winter it is very cold and dry, so I need the extra moisture so I prefer cream foundations. Another challenge is my yellow-toned skin which makes it hard to find products that work. Brands I like at the moment are Lily Lolo, Couleur Caramel and Juice Beauty.

4) Your favorite lip product and why?

I am not a big fan of lipstick, so my favorite products are balms and glosses. Anything moisturizing and easy to use.

5) What is your beauty signature?

The no-makeup makeup look. I used to like smokey eyes a lot, but they are getting harder to wear as I get older.

6) Part of your face which you find the most interesting?

Eyes. Mine are slightly slanted and an interesting shade of hazel…. depending on the light they seem either light brown or green–not that I see that…. but others have commented.

7) Do you have a favorite makeup color-the one that inspires you the most?

Nope. I like neutrals mostly.

8) For you beauty is….

Nature. I never cease to be amazed at the beauty of our planet.  The seas, the mountains, the beautiful changing leaves in autumn.  To me there’s no greater beauty and it is why I am so passionate about sustainability and preserving it.

9) What type of sensory personality are you the most?

Definitely visual.  I am a graphic designer and I always need to visualize things in order to think about them.  I recently saw a video that translated Beethoven’s Fifth into visual shapes and colors.  Magnificent! Left me with an entirely new way to appreciate and understand music.

10) Must-have products in your makeup bag?

Don’t have a makeup bag….

As part of the award I must also nominate other blogs and come up with 10 questions for the nominees.  Will get to those in a future post.

Till next time,

J.

Leave a Reply

